An Opportunity for Faith

imageA category 4 hurricane barrels its way towards Boston. A freaking hurricane! Really? Once again, what are the odds…

That was my first reaction. How could this be happening again. No control over anything, then I realized we weren’t meant to be in control. We can’t control or predict a tumor any better than we can the weather. (Yes I might be making a correlation between doctors and weathermen)

As we have walked through this journey, the major thing God has been showing me is I’m not in control, He is. As humans that’s a very difficult place to find yourself in. We want to have our hands wrapped around everything that effects our lives. The truth is that we don’t, never will and the world wasn’t created that way.

The struggle/anxiety that we have is created not by being out of control but by not trusting “the situation” to work itself out for our betterment. We are selfish creatures. How easily we forget who God is. Seriously…I do it all the time…God is God. He literally never changes! Never! We forget so often.

Imagine you’re a parent and you’re have taken your child to a forest. It’s not just any forest, it’s where you grew up walking through and exploring and enjoying. You know every nook and cranny. You’ve climbed every hill and navigated every obstacle and barrier that could ever be encounter. There is great beauty and wonder in this forest but also emense danger. You love this forest and want to share it with your child. As you embark on the journey with your child and you encounter many obstacles and troubles. But since you have walked past them before as your child has to question

“Im scared, how are we going to do this? I don’t think I can make it”

You answer filled with love ” You’ll make it, I’m right here with you and will never leave. I’ve been down this path before. Trust me and everything will be ok.”

Now the same scenario happens over and over and over as you walk through the forest you see beautiful and amazing things with your child. You grow closer together and you see them grow stronger as the journey continues. Sometimes they fall and get hurt and sometimes the don’t want to go any further. With love you guide them knowing the journey is worth difficulties.

As you reach another difficult and dangerous part of the forest, the hardest yet, your child ask the same question they have been asking since the beginning of the journey.
“Im scared, how are we going to do this? I don’t think I can make it?”

You answer with the same love that you always have, ” You’ll make it, I’m right here with you and will never leave you. I’ve been down this path before. Trust me and everything will be ok.”

You and your child make it through the dangerous part once again. They are more confident in your love, guidance and themselves. The journey continues…

“God, I’m scared. My daughter is having brain surgery, my family will be split apart for weeks and there is a hurricane coming. How am I going to handle all this. I don’t think I can make it.”

“Don’t worry my son. You’ll make it, I’m right here with you and will never leave you. I’ve been down this path before. Trust me and everything will be ok.”

One thought on “An Opportunity for Faith

Leave a Reply

